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BACKGROUND

On April 17, 1989, the Attorney General, of the State of Montana issued an opinion
that state and local government employees who are covered by the Federal Fair
Labor Standards Act (FLSA), are not subject to the provisions of the Montana
Minimum Wage and Hour Act. This opinion allows agencies flexibility in
administering overtime provisions for non-exempt employees.

POLICY

It is the policy of the Office of State Public Defender to comply with the FLSA, its
regulations (29 CFR 553), state rules (Montana Operations Manual, Volume lll,
Policy 3-0211), and this policy in the administration of overtime compensation and
non-exempt compensatory time. Compensatory time for employees exempt from the
FLSA will be administered consistent with the provisions found in the state's Exempt
Compensatory Time Policy (MOM, Volume lll, Policy 3-0210).

DEFINITIONS

A. “Non-exempt compensatory time" means time accrued at a rate of one and
one-half hours for each hour of employment for which overtime compensation
is required pursuant to the FLSA, its regulations, and this policy. Accrued
time may be taken as approved time off at a later date.

B. "Non-exempt or covered employee" means an employee subject to the
overtime provisions of the FLSA and its regulations. It does not mean certain
employees exempt from the overtime provisions of the FLSA in a position
designated as executive, administrative, professional, or outside salesmen,
as these terms are defined in 29 CFR 541.

C. "Overtime" means time worked by a non-exempt employee in excess of 40
hours in a workweek. The rate of overtime pay will be one and one-half times
the employee's regular hourly wage, with the exception of on-call
reimbursement, which will be reimbursed at the regular rate of pay unless the
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employee is called in to work.

"Workweek" means a regular recurring period of 168 hours in the form of
seven consecutive 24-hour periods. The workweek need not be the same as
the calendar week. The workweek may begin on any day of the week and at
any hour of the day. Once established, a workweek may not be changed
unless the change is intended to be permanent.

PROCEDURE

A.

The Office of State Public Defender may grant non-exempt employees who
work overtime either cash overtime pay or non-exempt compensatory time
off.

If a covered employee would like to accrue and use non-exempt
compensatory time, the covered employee must request this option by
completing the attached agreement (Attachment A) and returning the form to
the appropriate supervisor and the Department of Administration, Human
Resource Office. Covered employees will be paid cash for overtime hours
worked unless they complete the attached agreement. A new employee will
make their request at the time of hire. Employees electing to receive non-
exempt compensatory time may change their selection to receive overtime on
a quarterly basis, such change to be effective with the pay periods of
January 1, April 1, July 1 and October 1 unless approved by the Division
Administrator.

. The Office of State Public Defender may, at any time, pay cash for all or any

portion of a covered employee's accrued non-exempt compensatory time
balance.

. All hours worked in a pay status, with the exception of on-call hours, are

counted as hours worked for the purpose of calculating a workweek for
overtime pay requirements. A supervisor may adjust a covered employee’s
work schedule in a workweek or require the employee to take time off without
pay so that the employee does not become eligible for the payment of
overtime or the accrual of nonexempt compensatory time.

. Overtime and non-exempt compensatory time is earned and recorded on the

Department's time and attendance form in no smaller than 72 hour
increments.

Non-exempt compensatory time must be taken off in no less than one-half
hour increments. The employee’s immediate supervisor must approve
requests for use of compensatory time off in advance.

. A non-exempt employee may accrue a maximum balance of 120 hours of
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non-exempt compensatory time. When the non-exempt compensatory time
balance exceeds 120 hours, the covered employee will be paid cash
overtime compensation.

H. If a non-exempt employee changes from non-exempt to exempt status
through a personnel action, such as a promotion or the employee terminates
employment with the division, the division will cash out any unused non-
exempt compensatory time.

CLOSING
This policy shall be followed unless it conflicts with negotiated labor contracts or
specific statutes, which shall take precedence to the extent applicable

Questions about the administration of overtime compensation or non-exempt
compensatory time in lieu of overtime compensation should be discussed with
your immediate supervisor or with the Human Resource Officer at:

Office of the State Public Defender
Administrative Service Division

44 West Park

Butte, MT 59701

Phone 406-496-6091
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ATTACHMENT A

The Office of State Public Defender
Overtime/Compensatory Time Selection

For completion by employees in non-exempt status.

NAME:

JOB TITLE:

FISCAL YEAR:

Select one of the following options for your preferred compensation of overtime worked
for the fiscal year, or until a new form is submitted.

1. Overtime Pay:
(Pay at 1-1/2 times your hourly rate.)

2. Compensatory Time:
(Time off at 1-1/2 hours for every overtime hour worked.)

| understand that the Office of State Public Defender management reserves the right to
approve the granting of FLSA compensatory time in lieu of overtime pay. The Division
may at any time pay cash for all or any portion of a covered employee's accrued FLSA
compensatory time. | may submit a selection form reversing my previous selection on a
quarterly basis, effective with the pay periods of January 1%, April 1%, July 1%, and
October 1%

Employee's Signature Date

APPROVED BY:

Supervisor's Signature Date

Administrative Director Signature Date

Page 4 of 4



